Course of Study Overview

  • The Chester County Intermediate Unit Practical Nursing Program consists of 1,635 hours of study with new classes starting a minimum of twice each year. The total hours are broken up into four levels, each equating to 393 to 414 hours in length. Each level consists of individual courses that stress the nursing process of assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation. Each course must be completed successfully and in sequence with any emergency closures (e.g. weather-related closures) made up.

    Clinical experience is concurrent and sequential with classroom instruction through the cooperation of local clinical site affiliation agreements held with the following sites amongst others: Penn Medicine Chester County Hospital, Pocopson Home, Bryn Mawr Rehabilitation Hospital, Brandywine Hospital, Neighborhood Health Agencies, Department of Veterans Administration Medical Center, Kendal Crosslands and community clinical care experiences. Facilities represent various levels of care including acute care, sub-acute care, skilled care, home care and community based experiences.


Level 1 (393 Hours)

  • Fundamentals of Nursing

  • Pharmacology

  • Anatomy and Physiology

  • Foundations in Nursing Education

Level 2 (414 hours)

  • Medical-Surgical Nursing I

Level 3 (414 hours)

  • Medical-Surgical Nursing II

  • Maternal and Child Health Nursing

Level 4 (414 hours)

  • Medical-Surgical Nursing III

  • Issues in Nursing Practice

  • I.V. Therapy