Return to Headlines

CCIU Honors Exceptional Educators and Staff at Annual Awards Celebration

On May 9, 2024, the Chester County Intermediate Unit (CCIU) hosted its Annual Awards Celebration, recognizing the outstanding contributions of educators, staff, and community members. Over 200 attendees, including CCIU staff and their families, gathered to honor the dedication and hard work of the award recipients and extend congratulations to those recognized. The event was catered by students from the Culinary Arts program at the Technical College High School (TCHS) Brandywine Campus.

“Our awards banquet is a special honor, and a joint effort between the staff and our CCIU Board to shine a light on those who give something extra," said Dr. George F. Fiore, CCIU Executive Director. "On behalf of the CCIU Board, administrative staff, teachers, students, and the entire Chester County community, I extend my heartfelt gratitude. The evening's award recipients' dedication and excellence serve as a shining example for us all."

The highlight of the evening was the induction of two esteemed individuals into the CCIU Hall of Fame, the highest honor bestowed by the CCIU Board of Directors. Dr. Eileen Weaver and Dr. Danielle Schoeninger were the 2024 CCIU Hall of Fame inductees, recognized for their lifetime of exemplary service to education in Chester County.

Dr. Weaver started with the CCIU as a reading specialist serving St. Simon and Jude in 1980, which launched a decades-long career of dedication to providing high quality services to students in non-public schools across Chester County. Upon her ascension to supervisor and eventual director, Dr. Weaver was known for her exceptional work ethic and an impressive team player approach, punctuated by an unwavering commitment to her staff, which empowered her team to excel in their efforts.

Dr. Schoeninger began her service with the CCIU as a special education supervisor in 2012 and eventually became the director of human resources before her retirement in 2022. During those years, she embodied the concept servant leadership, applying her passion for lifelong learning to fostering the elevation of the staff she supervised. She was the catalyst for the growth of many programs and individuals with the CCIU community.

In addition, 13 CCIU staff members were presented with Outstanding Service Awards, acknowledging their exceptional contributions to the organization and the local community. Honorees included Rhonda Bertoncini, Vanessa Christman, Laura Davis, Gretchen Englund, Jason Lichtfus, Mia McMillan, Alvin Miller, Judi O'Neill, Colleen O'Brien, Heather Panik, Taylor Reeder, Melissa Salach, and David Tschlachler.

The Annie Sullivan Award, named after Helen Keller's devoted teacher and mentor, was presented to Alisha Treadwell, an instructional assistant whose unwavering commitment to her students and the pursuit of excellence embodies the very best qualities of an educator.

"We are incredibly proud to celebrate the achievements of our dedicated staff and community partners," said Maureen Linahan, Director of Human Resources of CCIU. "Their passion, expertise, and unwavering commitment to education inspire us all and make a profound difference in the lives of our students."

The evening also honored “Years of Service” recipients and CCIU retirees, recognizing their years of service and wishing them well in their future endeavors.

The CCIU Annual Awards Celebration highlights the exceptional work being done by educators and staff throughout the region, reaffirming the vital role educators play in shaping young minds and building a brighter future for Chester County.

Photo One: Pictured from left to right are CCIU Board President Bonnie Wolff, Alvin Miller, Taylor Reeder, Melissa Salach, Dr. Danielle Schoeninger, Dr. Eileen Weaver, Mia McMillan, Colleen O’Brien, CCIU Executive Director Dr. George F. Fiore, Jason Lichtfus, David Tschachler, Judi O’Neill, Alisha Treadwell, Heather Panik, Vanessa Christman, and Laura Davis.